Getting yourself into a situation where your driving license gets suspended is rough, as an out-of-service license, despite temporarily, is ‘lost freedom’. A few of the reasons leading to suspension by your local DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles), Secretary of State, Department of Revenue or Motor Vehicles Division are as follows:
- Accumulation of exorbitant driving record points
- A consistent record of traffic violations
- Felonies involving the vehicle
- Insurance law violations
- Misrepresentation of information to the Virginia DMV
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
Driving on a suspended driver’s license is a critical issue that may be taken to the Chesterfield Courts. The penalties involved and other related information will be the focus of discussion, in the following paragraphs.
When a conviction for driving with a suspended license is made, the following penalties are inevitable, depending on the seriousness of the situation at hand. Moreover, the harshness of the penalties is dependent upon the number of times a perpetrator is found offending the law.
First Offense: This usually falls under the Class 1 misdemeanor that can lead to a fine up to $2500 or imprisonment for 1 year.
Second Offense: This falls under the Class 1 misdemeanor and carries the exact same penalties as in the case of first offense.
Subsequent Offenses: In addition to the penalties imposed on the offender in first and second offenses, a 10-day jail sentence becomes mandatory in such a case. The sentencing judge carries the right to suspend the driving privileges of the convicted driver on the suspended license. This suspension may be imposed for up to a 90 days period, as per discretion of the judge.
Based on the following circumstances, the driving license may be ‘forfeited’, rather than suspended:
- If the offender fails to comply with the DMV’s request to take a blood or breath test upon the suspicion of a DUI/ DWI
- A DUI/ DWI conviction
- Administrative suspension for a DUI/ DWI charge
- For charges under offenses mentioned in Section 46.2-389
If your driving license has been suspended, owing to violation of insurance laws, an administrative hearing may be requested for. Essential information that must be provided to fill in the Virginia DMV online form comprises of:
- Full Name
- Driver’s License Number
- Mailing Address
- Details of the Suspension (stating the reason).
In order to reinstate your Virginia suspended driver’s license, the following essential documentation has to be provided:
- Proof of payment of all the court fines
- SSR2 certificate of Insurance
- Certificate of Completion of a driving improvement clinic
- On completion of Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP), a proof of this becomes mandatory, depending on what triggered a suspension of the license
- License fee payment, if applicable
- Reinstatement Fee
If you have been charged for driving with a suspended license, contact an attorney to represent your case and make sure to be equipped with relevant documentation, as and when required.