Reckless driving ticket fine in Virginia is a bit too harsh if you go just a little too fast. Reckless driving ticket fines in Virginia can be charged on the basis of speed. Any person who drives over the speed of 80 miles per hour, or even at a speed of 20 miles per hour or more above the speed limit, will be deemed as a reckless driver, under the code of 46.2-862.
Some interstates in Virginia can have a speed limit of 70 miles per hour, so you can be easily charged with going only 11 miles per hour above the posted legal speed limit. Generally, you get a $6 fine for every mile per hour crossed over the posted speed limit. So for example if you have crossed 11 miles per hour in a speed limit zone of 70 miles per hour then you would be charged with a reckless driving ticket fine of $66. Most reckless driving ticket fines are calculated like that.
The reckless driving ticket fine charge of $6 can be applied for:
- school buses,
- vehicles, which are operating under special permit license,
- speed limitations for bridges, tunnels and interstate,
- Certain interstate highways
- Residence areas and districts
Other reckless driving ticket fine of $7 will be applied for the maximum speed limit crossed at a school crossing or highway work zones. Another scenario in which reckless driving ticket fine of $200 will be imposed for speed limit crossed in residential areas and then $8 for every mile per hour crossed over the posted legal speed limit.
Reckless driving ticket fines in Virginia can even go up to $500 if the violation is a crime. The fine can be doubled if the driver fails to present himself or herself in court. Normally, a reckless driving ticket fine is of $250 and can go upto $2500. If the speeding violation results in a crime then a minimum of $200 ticket fine would be charged. With that, additional fees, such as court fee and registration fee would be charged.
Reckless Driving Ticket Fines in Virginia
To determine the exact amount can be tough to answer. It all depends upon your law enforcement office or the patrol officer to determine how much is your reckless driving ticket fine. A specific reckless driving ticket fine in Virginia depends upon a variety of factors. The maximum the fine can go up to is $2500. However this won’t be as accurate as normally there are additional ticket fines, which can be applied so it would be safe to say that the reckless driving ticket will range somewhere in between $300 to $1000. The total court costs will be around $80.
Normally, $250 reckless driving ticket fine is applied with a conviction of speeding 90 miles per hour in a speed zone of 65 miles per hour. So all these different reckless driving ticket fine in Virginia would be applied on the authority and decision of your law enforcement or patrol officer. The Virginia court would give you a total number of 30 days to pay the fine. If you require additional days then the court can provide you additional number of days as well, depending upon your financial condition.